Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Hysol 9462, Need Your Help

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Hysol 9462, Need Your Help

Old 02-25-2017, 05:29 AM
mikeyost12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Hysol 9462, Need Your Help

First off, I know his post has nothing to do with a jet but if I am not completely off, I think the Hysol Glue is something that is common in the Jet World so here it is. I recently purchased the Goldwing suhkoi and before I could even fly is, the motor box face plate broke trying to start the motor. I cut it out, then used Hysol to epoxy everything back together, added triangles for additional support on the inside and dowel rods on the outside. Will this fix my issue with the motor box? this is my first time ever using the Hysol glue line. Thank you for your help!!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Motor Box 2.JPG
Views:	179
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	2202751   Click image for larger version

Name:	Motor Box .JPG
Views:	167
Size:	1.17 MB
ID:	2202752  
Old 02-25-2017, 06:25 AM
dionysusbacchus
My Feedback: (25)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hysol added to the outside of a seem on say an engine box may crack, but if you have a good glue joint on the ends and sides that firewall isn't going anywhere.
Old 02-25-2017, 07:34 AM
mikeyost12

Thank you for your feedback.... So what I did was used a dremal and cut the face plate out as clean as I could. I then used the hysol on all ends both inside the box and on the face plate, put it back in place, then just figured for added support, I would use the Hysol on the outside anywhere were the wood connects together. Hopefully even if it cracks on the outside, the glue joint on the inside is good and strong. Just to be safe, I did put 4 dowel rods in and added triangles on the inside upper half of the box. I guess I will see what happens
Old 02-25-2017, 07:54 AM
SECRET AGENT
My Feedback: (18)